Mekadatu Plan: Meeting of MPs from Karnataka at New Delhi

New Delhi: The Union Minister for Chemicals and Fertilizers DV Sadananda Gowda on Thursday held a meeting with the MPs from Karnataka on the Mekedatu Project.

Karnataka government was led by Water Resources Minister DK Shivakumar.

Shivakumar informed that the Mekedatu project is the low cost project. The implementation of this scheme is to extend drinking water to people and generate hydroelectricity mainly for use in Bangalore. The water from the proposed dam will not be used to irrigate even one acre of agricultural land in Karnataka, he said presenting the detailed project report prepared by the Karnataka government.

This project will benefit Tamil Nadu more than Karnataka. The central government on this basis has permitted the project, and explained to the MPs that the Tamil Nadu government and the Tamil Nadu MPs are opposing to the project for political reasons. He asked the MPs from Karnataka to put forth the state’s views in the Parliament and counter the Tamil Nadu MPs.

Union Minister DV Sadananda Gowda said, “We are also working on the implementation of the project. The MPs from the state fought unitedly earlier when the issue of state was concerned. We will also fight unitedly for the implementation of Mekedatu project, MPs decided first step they will protest in front of Gandhi statue in Parliament on December 27.

The MPs discussed the next course of action on the Mahadai river water distribution too during the meeting.

Former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda, Defense Minister Nirmala Sitaram, Union Ministers Shri. Ananth Kumar Hegde, Ramesh Jigajinagi, Leader of Congress party in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, MPs Siddheshwar, KH Muniyappa, Shivakumar Udasi, Shobha Karandlaje, P C Mohan, Prahlad Joshi, DK Suresh, Sanganna Karadi, VS Ugrappa, Chandrapappa, Mudhahummegowda, R Dhruvanarayan, BY Raghavendra, BK Hariprasad, Nalin Kumar Kateel, LR Shivaramegowda, Bhagwan Khubha, Gaddigoudar, Rajiv Chandrashekhar, Prabhakar Kore, K.C. Rajmurthy, Chandrashekhar, Rajiv Gowda, Kupendra Reddy, Dr. L Hanumanthayya, Nasir Hussain were present.

City Today News

(Tj vision media)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s